Skip to content

Model Monday: Esther Romain

April 5, 2011

 

Stats:  39-32-38 Height 5′ 3″

Location:  Atlanta, Georgia

Booking:  pipgirl_el@yahoo.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

Esther Romain is a pretty petite runway model born in Brooklyn, New York. After spending her high school years in Florida, Esther is now in Georgia where she is currently a full time student studying to get her degree in Criminal Justice.  Modeling (freelance) is her part time career.

What was your first runway show?

My first runway show was the Red or Dead Fashion Show in July 2010.  My experiences in Atlanta shows took off from there:

  • Winter Wonderland Fashion Show (November 2010)
  • Energy Vampire Fashion Show (October 2010)
  • IamCrochet for the Cause Fashion Show (January 2011),
  • Xquisite Fashion Show (March 2011)
  • Lashe’ Magazine Fashion Show (March 2011).

Why did you want to be a model?

I actually did not want to become a model.  for my first fashion show, I found out that the show was in need of more designers. So, I contacted my sister, a designer, and I auditioned and got caste. From that point on, I have been addicted to going to model calls. Every time I tell myself that I’m taking a break, I end up doing another fashion show. I guess it’s just not my time to stop yet.

When you are doing jobs with other models, is it more of a sisterhood or extremely competitive?

To me, it is more of a sisterhood.  I never take it as a competition.  Every single fashion show I have done, I have bonded with other models so well, and we continue to communicate after jobs. Since living in Georgia for the past 5 years, I have several friends that are models, and they are amazing!

 

 

 
 
 

Are there any upcoming fashion shows you are modeling in?

Spring Blossom Fashion Show (April 2011) and Urban Spice Fashion Show (April 2011)

Do you feel it is necessary to diet to have a successful modeling career?

No, I do not think it is necessary to diet to have a successful modeling career.  Back in the day, every single model had to be toothpick thin. Now, it is possible for many sizes to make it to the top.

As far as your modeling career, what do you consider to be your strengths?

My strengths are me knowing that I am beautiful and confident.  When I first started, I did not think that I could do a good runway walk or make it as a model. As time went by, I got better and better at what I did. Not only did I see a tremendous improvement, others did too. That makes me a better model every day.

Esther Romain’s advice to aspiring models, “If you believe in yourself, nothing can hold you back.” Thank you, Esther, for being this week’s feature model. Continue ripping that runway!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

