Skip to content

Dream BIG

September 5, 2010

Here are some BIG dreamers:

President Barack Obama

He is the 44th President of the United States, and the 1st African American to hold the office.

Justice Sonia Sotomayor

1st Latina Supreme Court Justice

To my aspiring models, why do you want to be a model? This is a question I will ask over and over on this blog. Being on the cover of magazines, having a multiple page spread inside popular magazines, having your face on huge billboards  – especially those in Times Square – are all more than just perks to modeling.  They are really big achievements.

Beverly Johnson

1st Black woman to appear on the cover of American Vogue (1974)

When I think of my life as model, the very first thing that comes to mind is the runway.  I like to call myself the Curvy Naomi Campbell. Yes, I’m that awesome. My signature stride sets the catwalk on fire! Okay, honestly, I am an aspiring model therefore I’m working on being just as great as Naomi Campbell. But did you love that confidence I had? Even at this stage in my career I still walk, talk, and think as if I am on the same level as Naomi Campbell. You should have that same amount of confidence.

You better work it, Naomi!!! Below is a video of the 1991 Gianni Versace Runway Show with Naomi Campbell, Christy Turlington, and Linda Evangelista. Naomi says this is one of her favorite fashion moments. See her walk  at 2:50.

Speaking of the runway, there are always fashion shows, but there are not always a lot of spots for plus size models in fashion shows. That is why I practice everyday whether its 5 or 30 minutes. Do you practice, or do you wait for an opportunity and pray that you don’t fall off the catwalk? When someone says, ‘Yes, plus models are welcomed at the casting call,’ you need to be prepared.  The reason is because per fashion show, there are usually a maximum of 30 models.  Out of the 30, there are only a handful of curvy models.

Johanna Dray

One of France's 1st plus-size models

Don’t let that discourage you. Keep in mind just like you’re an aspiring curvy model there are aspiring straight models at the model call with amateur walks that might not be quite as polished as yours. If your runway walk is fierce with attitude and full of confidence, it’s possible to take a spot intended for a straight model.  Because there is not as much work for plus size models as there is for straight models, it’s important that you practice any chance you have so you’ll be ready for any chance you get. That is the long version of my personal motto which is simply ‘BE READY’.

Valeria Mazza & Tyra Banks

Tyra Banks was the 1st black model on the cover of Sports Illustrated

When it comes to modeling, I have some big dreams. I dream about being the 1st plus  model on the  swimsuit issue cover of Sports Illustrated. Another dream of mine is to walk in the Victoria’s Secret 1st fashion show featuring Curvy Angels. I can’t even imagine what my wings would look like.

Tyra was also the 1st African American model featured solo on the cover of Sports Illustrated

People say all the time to dream big and believe the impossible. As far and fast as I am trying to get in my modeling career, I can’t afford to believe that something is impossible. You can’t either. What I do believe and know is that the first step in making a dream come true is to take the first step.

Whitney Thompson

Luckily for me, others have taken the first steps for me. Whitney Thomas is the first plus size model to win America’s Next Top Model. She recently won 2010 Full Figured Fashion Week™ Award for Plus Runway Model of the Year . (I’m right behind you girlfriend!) Whenever I see plus size supermodels such as Crystal Renn appear in magazines, runway or anything, that’s another door opened for the curvy community. She is truly pushing the envelope for us aspiring models. Also, in the July2008 Black issue of Italian Vogue, curvy model Toccara Jones was photographed by Steven Meisel more than most of the straight models in the issue.  That says a lot considering she was one of the newest and curviest models featured in the issue. What’s even better, the magazine was sold out in the U.S and U.K. within and 72 hours. Italian Vogue had to do an express reprint for both countries.

Toccara Jones featured in July 2008 Black Issue of Vogue Italia

Photographed by Steven Meisel, Toccara had an 14 page spread in Vogue Italia

Tocarra Jones was in Cycle 3 of America's Next Top Model

I have yet to tell you what would be my most amazing accomplishment as a model.  You know how as children, actors dreamed of winning an Oscar, and singers dreamed of winning a Grammy. I have always pictured myself as a runway diva.  For the longest time, I have dreamed of the chance when I get to walk the runway during New York’s Fashion Week.  When I get to the end of the runway and do my 3 second pose, that will be my Grammy and Oscar acceptance.  When I’m practicing my walk daily, that is where I am in my mind. Thanks to One Stop Plus, this year the first step of my dream will be taken. Very soon my biggest dream will be reality.

Thanks to all of you who are apart of the curvy community. Because of your tremendous achievements my hard work is half way done!

What are your biggest dreams and goals as a model? For what designer or event have you wanted to walk the runway? Comment and tell me your goals.

In case you didn’t get enough, I have one more of Naomi’s catwalk. Here’s an idea. Turn the volume down really low or off on this next video while playing the video below it at the same time. Hope that didn’t confuse you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    May 21, 2012 10:14 pm

    persevere and you can achieve anything

Trackbacks

  1. The Curviest Victoria’s Secret™ Angel | The Aspiring Model

Leave a Reply

